• There are no items in your basket


Spanish cycling team Movistar are a long-time establishment and a result of the historical eighties Reynolds team.

As Reynolds, the team began in 1980, under director José Miguel Echavarri, and with star rider Ángel Arroyo, they won the 1982 Vuelta a España. Later Arroyo’s win was eradicated after drug tests came back positive and he was disqualified.

In the nineties, when the team was named Banesto, they had yet another chance to triumph at la Vuelta a España in 1990. Julián Gorospe was the man for the job, taking the lead early on, however he fell victim to the Italian Marco Giovannetti.

Since then, and over the last 34 years, Movistar cycling team have gone from strength to strength. Based in Egüés in Spain, the team has risen and rooted itself as a prominent team in modern cycling.

Heading into the tour season, Movistar are geared up for the Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and of course la Vuelta. Their key riders this year include the likes of Alex Dowsett and Giovanni Visconti.