• There are no items in your basket

Giro d'Italia The Final Stages

Stage 18, 19 and 20 Plus The Final Stage of the Giro d'Italia

Stage 18

The time trial ran from Mori to Polsa along a mountainous region of northern Italy. In the end it was Vincenzo Nibali for Team Astana who crossed the finish line first in 44:29, over a minute faster than the others.

Stage 19

Stage 19 was actually cancelled due to extreme weather, as the snow fell the night before officials and team Giro crew were trying to clear the roads, but the snow got the better of them and in the end stage 19 had to be cancelled, which is the first time a stage hasn't gone ahead since 1989.

Stage 20

Stage 20

'I remember waking up excited to see snow. Then I became a cyclist. Now I wake up to snow & have to wait to see if I'm excited or not' - Mark Cavendish. Stage 20 ran from Silandro Schlanders to Tre Cime Di Lavaredo, it had four major mountain climbs and tested the already weary riders with the constant incline. More snowy conditions made the twentieth stage a full on endurance marathon, but one man was not going to be stopped on his quest to victory. Vincenzo Nibali walked away with the win in a time of 5:27:41, with Duarte Colombia in second 17 seconds behind the Sicilian.

Stage 21 - The Finish

Stage 21

Starting in Riese Pio and finishing in Brescia the 197km final race was flat to give the tired riders a bit of a rest. With Nibali looking like he was a dead cert for the pink jersey, Mark Cavendish took the final slice of glory and won stage 21 in a time of 5:30:09. The Manx missile did it again!

So the here are the results for the entire Giro d'Italia:

1. V. Nibali Astana 84:53:28


2. R. Urán Team Sky 4:43

3. C. Evans BMC Racing 5:52

4. M. Scarponi Lampre 6:48

5. C. Betancur AG2R 7:28

6. P. Niemiec Lampre 7:43

7. R. Majka Saxo - Tinkoff 8:09

8. B. Intxausti Movistar 10:26

9. M. Santambrogio Vini Fantini 10:32

10. D. Pozzovivo AG2R 10:59

207 Riders started the Giro d'Italia but only 168 finished this gruelling tour around Italy.

Mark Cavendish won the overall points jersey with 158 points.