• There are no items in your basket

Giro d'Italia Stage 2, 3 and 4

Stage 2


After Mark Cavendish's win in the first stage of the Giro d'Italia, stage two was open for the taking. The race was a 17.4km team time trial around the island of Ischia.

A technical course with four climbs really pushed the riders after a day of flat racing. In the end it was Team Sky that came up to take the team trial in a time of 22:05.  The individual winner was Italian Salvatore Puccio, 'It's means a lot. After two years working for the team, today I took a big personal win. Everyone dreams of this jersey. Whoever races dreams of taking part in the Giro and wearing the pink jersey.'


Team Sky are riding with Elite water bottles, Shimano bike parts and making sure they can see in the Italian sunshine each rider wears Oakley sunglasses

Stage 3


Stage 3 was the first mountain race in the Giro, starting at Sorrento and travelling 222km along the Italian coast to Marina Di Ascea. Featuring two moderate climbs it was the turn of the non-sprinters to come up the ranks and persevere. In the end Italian Luca Paolini took the lead in his Giro debut, making a late attack in the last 10km and won stage 3 in a time of  5.43.50. 

Stage 4 


 Stage 4 saw the triumph of another Italian Enrico Battaglin, after heavy rain split the petoton, Bradley Wiggins lost 17 seconds after being caught behind a crash. But Battaglin sprinted to a surprise victory with a winning time of 6.14.19.

With Chris Froome being given the nod for the Tour de France, this really is Bradley Wiggins time to shine, but after slipping to sixth place in the Giro d'Italia things are not looking good. However with several flat races coming up he will have a chance to make up the time. 

Here are the results so far:

 The top 10 in stage four:

1. Winner: Enrico Battaglin (Italy/Bardiani Valvole) 6:14:19'

2. Fabio Felline (Italy/Androni Giocattoli) SAME TIME

3. GiovanniVisconti (Italy/Movistar)

4. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia/Team Sky)

5. Arnold Jeannesson (France/FDJ)

6. Cadel Evans(Australia/BMC Racing)

7. Benat Intxausti (Spain/Movistar)

8. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada/Garmin)

9. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia/RadioShack)

10. Luca Paolini (Italy/Katusha)


The top 10 in the overall standing after stage four:

1. Luca Paolini(Italy/Katusha) 15:18:51'

2. RigobertoUran (Colombia/Team Sky) 17'

3. BenatIntxausti (Spain/Movistar) 26'

4. VincenzoNibali (Italy/Astana) 31'

5. RyderHesjedal (Canada/Garmin) 34'

6. BradleyWiggins (Britain/Team Sky) SAME TIME

7. GiampaoloCaruso (Italy/Katusha) 36'

8. Sergio Henao(Colombia/Team Sky) 37'

9. MauroSantambrogio (Italy/ Vini Fantini) 39'

10. Cadel Evans(Australia/BMC Racing) 42'

 Twitter YouTube Blog Google+